Different Types of Schengen Visa

Type of visa

Traveling to any area of the globe has become quite affordable for most people, and hence individuals now plan their ideal holidays overseas, especially in Europe. Europe is one of the world’s most popular vacation destinations, and 26 of the European countries come under the Schengen agreement. This makes it possible to visit any of the Schengen countries with just one visa.

Due to the 1985 and 1990 Schengen Agreements, it is now possible to travel to several European countries with just a single visa and travel insurance. The Schengen visa is surely the ultimate ticket to your dream European holiday. You can enjoy the vacation of your dreams, as long as you know how to apply for a Schengen visa and get Schengen travel insurance.

Different Types of Schengen Visa: Which One is Yours?

There are four types of Schengen visas. As a result, you should know which visa category you require before applying for a Schengen visa. Let’s go through all the Schengen visa categories:

A Type Schengen Visa

Type A Schengen Visa is an ‘Airport Transit Visa’ that is required for anybody transiting through a Schengen Area nation’s international zone. Even if you are only traveling through an airport in Germany to catch a connecting aircraft to the United States of America, you will need a valid Type A Schengen Visa. All non-Schengen area nationals must hold a Type A Schengen Visa to travel through any Schengen Area airport.

B Type Schengen Visa

Unlike the type A Schengen Visa, Type B Schengen visa is valid for 5 days. This Visa permits the holder to travel via many Schengen countries on their way to a non-Schengen nation. The Transit Visa allows the holder to stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 5 days.

C Type Schengen Visa

Type C Schengen visas are for short-term stays in the Schengen area. This is the most popular visa, and it is provided for ‘non-immigration purposes.’ This visa allows you to stay in the Schengen visa region for a maximum of three months in the six months after your initial admission.’ You cannot immigrate in any of the Schengen countries with a Schengen visa type C. However, you can travel in multiple countries in one trip itself.

D Type Schengen Visa

This visa is a Schengen national visa, which allows you to live and work in a Schengen country. It is a long term visa, with which a person can travel within five days from a non-Schengen visa country to a Schengen area state that issues national visas. It is usually issued along with the type C Schengen visa category.

What is the procedure for getting a Schengen visa?

If you have all of the essential papers, applying for a Schengen visa is a breeze. Many consulates now provide the option of applying for a Schengen visa on their websites. You can also make payment for your Schengen visa online.

Along with your passport, you will need to provide supporting papers when applying for a Schengen visa. You can also visit the consulate of your desired Schengen state in person, armed with a completed application form and all necessary documentation. All visa applications are processed within 3-10 working days.

Number of Entries

Single Entry: The person who has a single-entry visa is only allowed to enter the Schengen Area once.

Double Entry: The individual with this Schengen visa can enter and exit the Schengen Area twice.

Multiple Entries: The person with this can enter and exit the Schengen Area as often as they choose, until the validity of the visa expires.

Duration of Stay

The duration of your stay would correspond to the precise dates of your stay in the Schengen Area, as stated in your application. If nothing else is indicated, a Schengen visa holder may stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days (within the 180 days of visa validity).

Schengen Visa Rule 90/180

If you have a multiple entry visa, you must know about the 90/180 rule. Your visa will be valid for 90 days out of every 180 days. It means that you can only stay in the Schengen Area for 90 days at a time. If you overstay your visa, you risk getting banned from entering the Schengen Zone again.

Visa with Restrictions on Territory

A Limited Territorial Visa is a sort of visa that enables you to travel only in one specific Schengen nation. This visa is usually provided in unusual or emergency situations, when a conventional Schengen visa is not available.

Validity of Schengen Visas

The validity date on your Schengen visa indicates when the bearer of a Schengen visa may enter and exit the Schengen Area (even when they are eligible for two or more entries). The consular authorities of the first nation you visit in the Schengen Area determine the validity of your visa, which can range from 6 months to 5 years, based on your position and previous travel history. Learn about Schengen visa validity rules beforehand, so that you do not face any issues.


You must know about all the types of Schengen Visa if you are applying for one. This is because all the different types of Schengen visas have different purposes, and you must know which one is the right one for you. It is important to apply for the right type of visa because the visa type and the purpose of your visa does not match, your Schengen visa application may get rejected. Whichever type of Schengen visa you are applying for, you would have to undergo an interview, during which you have to prove that you arew trustworthy and honest. Be prepared by knowing the Schengen visa interview questions and answers, so that you can ace the visa interview.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *